Board of Directors

WAPOA —- Whitefish Area Property Owners Association

  November Board Planning Meeting

2017 WAPOA Board members

WAPOA Board members — Click to enlarge –Ken Neihart now Director Emeritus

Jess Eide DSC_0823

Board Member Jessica Eide


Board Member Tony Coffey


This photo includes not only the WAPOA Board but also additional individuals who were at the Annual Planning Meeting. These “helpers” are identified in the photo. Heather Baird (MN DNR) and Darren Mayers (CW_SWCD) provided technical information on behalf of their respective organizations. Alli Faricy provided media advice. Most of the others were former directors–now “emeriti.” Not included in this photo are Board Members Jessica Eide and Tony Coffee. Click to enlarge.

Every November WAPOA has an all-day planning meeting. We systematically examine each of our programs.

New goals are set. Budgets are planned.The direction is set for the next year.The goal remains the same: to protect and improve our water


WAPOA Board of Directors 2016 – 2017

Tom Watson    President    218-543-6064     612-751-0124

vacant Vice President/Past President

Pat Loban   Secretary    218-543-4020

Gary Olson    Treasurer    218-692-3021

Brian Olson   Shoreland Restoration    612-309-1784

Pamela Vaughan    Publicity    651-253-0004

Fred Strohmeier       Water Quality     218-763-3176

Jeff Laurel     Natural Resources    218-543-4498

Jessica Eide     Business Liaison    612-309-0386

 Joe Brodil    Aquatic Invasive Species     651-895-2734

 Tony Coffey    Outreach    218-543-6677

 Dave Topinka    Membership   218-568-4356

vacant Newsletter/Communication

vacant Special Events

vacant Land Use



Jim Brandt– Shoreline Restoration

Marv Erdman — AIS

David Fischer– Endowment/Run for the Walleye

John Forney– Communication/Endowment

Pat Hecker–Communication/Membership

Sandy Melberg–Database

Ron Meyer–Pine River Watershed Alliance/Endowment

Ken Neihart

MJ Schneider–Special Events

Ann Schrupp–Newsletter/Communication

Alan Sherburne –AIS/Communication

 Judy Wallschlaeger–Run for the Walleye/Endowment

Trustees – Land & Water Preservation Trust Advisory Committee

(WAPOA Trustees 3 year terms)

John Forney — At Large

David Fischer — Board Officer

Tom Watson –one year replacing Ed Egan


 Deputies and Consultants

Jenny Max — Run for the Walleye

Kay Rezanka–Water Quality

Corrine Hodapp–USACOE Cross Reservoir

Eleanor Burkett–U of Minnesota Environmental Specialist, REE Water Quality

Jackie Froemming–U of MN Ext Reg. Cntr.

Marc Bacigalupi–Brainerd Area Fisheries Supervisor, MN DNR

Brainerd station vacant — MN DNR, Aquatic Invasive Species

Richard Rezanka — Grand Rapids MN DNR, Aquatic Invasive Species

Heather Baird–DNR

Darren Mayers- CW SWCD

Melissa Barrick CW SWCD

Beth Hippert–CW SWCD



Jim Brandt

Marv Erdman

John Forney

Ken Neihart

John Pribyl

Tom Watson


 Senator (10) Carrie Ruud

 House Representative  (10A) Josh Heintzeman

House Representative (10B) Dale Lueck

County Commissioner Doug Houge

County Commissioner Paul Thiede   

Crosslake Mayor Steve Roe

Fifty Lakes Mayor Tim Anick

Manhattan Beach Mayor Paul Allen

Ideal Township Supervisor and Board Chair William Wortham

Timothy Township Supervisor and Board Chair James Anderson

Jenkins Township Supervisor and Board Chair Mike Dubay




Past Presidents
Richard Schalow 1970-1973 Roger Schwieters 1973-1974 Jack Gentry 1974-1976 Robert Uppgaard 1976-1977 Merrill Stodghill 1977-1979 Ralph Bachman 1979-1980 Edward Brehml 1980-1982 Dene Carney 1982-1986 Gerry Boe 1986-1991 Bill Beck 1992-1993 MJ Schneider 1994-1996 Jack Wallschlaeger 1996-1998 John Pierron 1998-2000 Ron DeLaHunt 2000-2003 John Larsen 2003-2005 John Forney 2005-2007 Judy Wallschlaeger 2007-2010Dave Fischer 2010-2013


  Whitefish Area Property Owners Association        P.O. Box 342       Crosslake, MN 56442